2022: Let's Review The Year

2022: Let's Review The Year

ยท

3 min read

Hi there ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿพ

I was inspired to write this article after reading a couple of other articles where people reviewed their year, and I found out that the main purpose of doing this is not to show off (which is not totally ruled out ๐Ÿ˜‰) but rather to allow for self-reflection and evaluation of what has been working and what has not, as well as to identify new strategies for achieving your goals in the coming year.

So I would be joining the train by writing a review of my year for the very first time. where I will be sharing some of my highlights, lowlights, and the lessons I learned throughout the year.

Grab some popcorn and join me as I take you through my journey in 2022.

The Highlights

  1. I was the best graduating student in the SELP program at IVYARC and received a scholarship that provided me with access to additional learning resources and projects, as well as monthly stipends.

  2. I conducted two technical workshops for Bytes and Pieces, where I presented on the topics of responsive and accessible websites and an introduction to React JS.

  3. Started contributing to open source projects through She Code Africa Contributhon program and received a $500 stipend at the end.

  4. During Hacktoberfest, I participated in Chimoney Community Projects where I received $25 for each pull request that was merged and also emerged a Top Contributor.

  5. I led a team of 5 to a hackathon and we were among the top 5 winners.

  6. Became a Software Engineer at Standage where I not only build websites with codes but also get to build mini-robots with codes.

  7. Became the Community Manager Lead of She Code Africa Lagos where I get to host and coordinate events for a community of women in tech.

The Lowlights

  1. I neglected my writing skills.

  2. I was involved in two more hackathons that didn't work out.

  3. Got caught up in lots of activities and I got burnt out badly while trying to balance it all.

  4. Had zero to little social media presence.

  5. I still have unfinished courses and projects.

Lesson Learned

After my very ugly moment with burning out, I had to reset my priority list and cut loose on some projects and activities. Hence my lessons from 2022 would be,

  • To always order my tasks according to their priority and

  • To never stop investing in my personal growth as that is what would matter at the end of the day.

Goals for the future

Moving forward... I would love to write more, build a better social media presence and also transition into web3 development.

Conclusion

I am extremely grateful for the experiences and lessons that this year has brought, as they have helped shape me in various ways. I am also excited about the opportunities that the next year will bring.

Thank you for following my story till the end ๐Ÿงก

Cheers to a Happy New Year ๐Ÿฅ‚ โœจ

#DevRetro2022

ย